Location: The department of Cusco is located in eastern Peru, passing through eastern and central mountain ranges of the Andes.

Limits: on the north, Ucayali and Junín, in the east Madre de Dios and Puno, on the south Puno and Arequipa, and to the west, Apurimac and Ayacucho.

Area: 72.104 square kilometers.

Population: approximately 1 `103.566 inhabitants.

Capital: The city of Cusco, located in the Huatanay River Valley, at 3360 meters altitude.

Access Routes

  • Land. Several roads reported to Cusco with different cities. From Lima, the most advisable route is the Pan American Highway south to Arequipa and then to Cusco (1659 km or 28 hours of travel, approx.). The other route, not recommended in the rainy season is in the mountains, via Ayacucho.
  • Railway. There is a daily train from Arequipa, via Juliaca (Puno), with approximately 20 hours of travel. From Puno is 10 hours. The highest point of this route is La Raya to 4313 meters above sea level between Cusco and Juliaca.
  • Air. There are daily flights to Cusco from Lima and other cities. Velasco Astete airport is 3 km from the city and it has taxi and bus services.
Saturday the 23rd. Custom text here.